top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

The Slut-Shaming Effect 2.


Meet Jade: Jade and I are both former students of The Art Institute of Atlanta (unfortunately lol). We didn't know each but I knew she was friends with my friends Cali and Tashia. So naturally I would see her in passing. I always thought she was a pretty girl with an edgy style that I admired. We began to follow each other on twitter and that's where i realized we had a lot in common. A few days ago she was ranting about an idiot who posted a meme saying Women who post pictures in Bikinis are not "wifey material" or "she's for everybody" and that's when i decided to ask her to share her story with you all. So here's Jade.

I've been slut shamed countless times all throughout high school all because i had a big butt & boys going through puberty (actually grown men also) love to act like they've never seen a plump booty before. This made a lot of high school girls annoyed. It didn't make things better when i decided to try out for the Volleyball team & made it.

Those girls gave me hell for having the audacity to wear my uniform. It was always, "oh she's in those shorts for the attention" . On several occasions there were Facebook pages made called "Bop Lists" ( a bop is the same as a "thot" ) & I made the list twice as the "Big Booty Bop". Stuff like that damages your reputation before you even get to the chance to proclaim one because people would rather go with a rumor rather than actually asking for truth. The slut shamming didn't stop in High School. It still follows me to this day. I was once called a slut out of anger because i refused to have a threesome with two guys. Slut shamming affected me terribly as a teen because i was so worried about what others would say about me because they're listening to rumors about me or unpopular opinions & coming from a small town like I, rumors spread quickly.

Now that i am older i know who i am & no one can tell me any different. That's the key to overcoming slut shaming for sure. You have to possess confidence in knowing who you are & how valuable you are & NEVER let anyone try to convince you otherwise because they don't know you like you know you!

bottom of page