top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

maybe i should drop out

An Overview on Your First Year of College



Welcome back to ShadyBrooke, my dear residents!! First things first… I would like to dedicate this article to the residents in the class of 2016. As I write this article, I’m having many different emotions. I’m happy for the graduates who worked so hard to get where they are. I’m sad for my own personal reasons. I’m jealous, because I wish I could relive my senior year (because it was all so simple then). But, like everyone says the show must go on!!

It’s hard to believe that one year ago I was walking across the stage (well turf in my case), to receive my diploma. At the age of 17, I was looking forward to expanding my education at Jacksonville State University. I had heard many different things about college and the lifestyle you live when in college. Let me be the first to tell you those are all lies. I’ve been known to keep it real, so as a personal gift to the graduates I’m going to give a three TRUTHS about college:


1. YOU ARE NOT ALWAYS BROKE

Ok… I know a lot of people are screaming “THAT’S A LIE”, but it’s true. You are not truly broke, but you don’t have the money to spend it on pointless stuff like you did in high school. I may be speaking for myself, but I ALWAYS had money for the necessities (food, clothing, and school materials). And to be completely honest, the people who was REALLY broke in college was spending all their money on parties, liquor, and reffa. ALWAYS KEEP A MONTHLY BUDGET AND YOU WILL BE FINE. A piece of advice… If you on your last $20 of you month and there is a party that night…. KEEP YOUR ASS AT HOME AND SPEND IT WISELY!!!!


2. PEOPLE AREN’T AS MATURE AS YOU THINK

If you had the high school life I had, it had to be as shady and dramatic as a soap opera. After graduation, you automatically think, you won’t have to deal with the drama anymore. LIES!!!! It’s worse. Think about it….the people in college are looking for a good time. This means EVERYONE is sleeping with EVERYBODY. Y’all can put 2 and 2 together to figure out the rest.


3. YOUR HIGH SCHOOL FRIENDS WILL BE YOUR CLOSEST FRIENDS

I honestly can’t speak on this right now……


As for the stress…that was all truth. Sad to say but it is. Some of you may even pick of smoking (Black and Mild’s are 89 cents if you are looking for something cheap). And some days you may say to yourself “Maybe I Should Dropout.” DON’T. Don’t be the statistic. Prove your enemies and neigh-sayers wrong. And get you degree to say “YOU DID IT”!!!


With that being said… stay safe and keep your mind, body, and soul safe. Until next time residents of ShadyBrooke! And remember “Spread nothing but peace, love, and shade!!”


bottom of page